MetaLEX

Digital Metalexicography of Historical Legal Languages in Europe

Genealogie der Rechtsprachen mit Justitia

Project Management: Prof. Dr. Rainer Maria Kiesow  (L’École des hautes études en sciences sociales Paris (EHESS)) · Falk Bretschneider  (L’École des hautes études en sciences sociales Paris (EHESS)) · L’École des hautes études en sciences sociales Paris (EHESS) · Prof Dr Claudine Moulin  (Universität Trier - Germanistik (Ältere deutsche Philologie)) · Prof Dr Christof Schöch  (Universität Trier - Computerlinguistik & Digital HumanitiesUniversität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)) · Dr Claudia Bamberg  (Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)) · Dr Thomas Burch  (Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)) · Dr. Joëlle Weis  (Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)) · Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)

Sponsors: Fondation Maison des sciences de l'homme Paris (FMSH), Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH), L’École des hautes études en sciences sociales Paris (EHESS)

Running time: since

Contact person (TCDH): Prof Dr Claudine Moulin; Dr. Joëlle Weis

References:

Falk Bretschneider, Rainer Maria Kiesow, Claudine Moulin, Christof Schöch: Les mots de Beccaria. Métalexicographie des langues du droit de punir à partir de Dei delitti e delle pene (1764) et ses traductions en Europe. In: Beccaria. Revue d’histoire du droit de punir 5 (2019) 117-125.

Claudine Moulin / Christof Schöch : Cesare Beccaria’s Dei delitti e delle pene (1764): Approaching the multilingual textual and paratextual tradition from an (undogmatic) digital point of view, in: Jan Horstmann et al., Toward Undogmatic Reading: Narratology, Digital Humanities and Beyond, Hamburg: Hamburg University Press 2021, 133-143. Available as online and as pdf document.

Falk Bretschneider, Rainer Maria Kiesow, Claudine Moulin, Christof Schöch: “Die alten Wörter des Rechts. Über MetaLEX – digitale Metalexikographie der historischen Rechtssprachen in Europa”. In: Das Achtzehnte Jahrhundert 45.2, 2021, S. 257-271. (Themenbereich Hermeneutik und Recht im 18. Jahrhundert, konzipiert von Frank Grunert und Denis Touard.) – Angenommen.

Research Area: Software Systems and Research Infrastructure, Digital Edition and Lexicography

Keywords: Legal Language, Translation Cultures, Multilingualism, 17th century, 18th century, 19th century

Technologies:

A comprehensive documentation of the vocabulary of historical legal languages in Europe exists at best in rudimentary form. The aim of the Franco-German MetaLEX project is to close this research gap by establishing a source-based, dynamic and interdisciplinary metalexicographic information system on historical legal languages in Europe. The project is based on three types of sources and initially focuses on the period between 1700 and 1900. The resulting information system is designed generically and is intended to cover a larger period in a follow-up project and potentially accommodate an unlimited number of sources.


MetaLEX is to be understood as a historical conceptual information system of European legal languages that does not offer dictionary articles in the “traditional” sense, but rather maps historical word concepts in their temporal development by making use of research and visualization methods as well as analysis procedures of the digital humanities and the computer science. MetaLEX will thus generate a multilingual concept-oriented information system, a dynamic and networked metalexicographic repository of knowledge for the indexing of historical legal languages in Europe in the period from 1700 to 1900. MetaLEX is historically and philologically anchored, but in the long term and in the full development stage, it is also intended to be a best practice example for the processing and reflection of current legal multilingualism in Europe.

Currently, the concept is being tested on the basis of the sub-project “Cesare Beccaria, Dei delitti e delle pene  (1764) and its 18th Century Translations: Networks, Multilingual Edition and Metalexicographic Approaches”.

Furthermore, annual workshops on the project are being held at Villa Vigoni/German Italian Centre for the European Dialogue since 2018.


Downloads

Team TCDH

Anne Klee
E-mail: kleeatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3365

Dr Claudia Bamberg
E-mail: bambergatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3790

Dr Thomas Burch
E-mail: burchatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3364

Dr. Joëlle Weis
E-mail: weisatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3017

Prof Dr Christof Schöch
E-mail: schoechatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3264

Prof Dr Claudine Moulin
E-mail: moulinatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-2305

Topics

MetaLEX

Digitale Metalexikographie der historischen Rechtssprachen in Europa

Genealogie der Rechtsprachen mit Justitia

Projektleitung: Prof. Dr. Rainer Maria Kiesow  (L’École des hautes études en sciences sociales Paris (EHESS)) · Falk Bretschneider  (L’École des hautes études en sciences sociales Paris (EHESS)) · L’École des hautes études en sciences sociales Paris (EHESS) · Prof. Dr. Claudine Moulin  (Universität Trier - Germanistik (Ältere deutsche Philologie)) · Prof. Dr. Christof Schöch  (Universität Trier - Computerlinguistik & Digital HumanitiesUniversität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)) · Dr. Claudia Bamberg  (Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)) · Dr. Thomas Burch  (Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)) · Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)

Förderer: Fondation Maison des sciences de l'homme Paris (FMSH), Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH), L’École des hautes études en sciences sociales Paris (EHESS)

Laufzeit: seit

Ansprechpartner (TCDH): Prof. Dr. Claudine Moulin; Dr. Claudia Bamberg

Referenzpublikation:

Falk Bretschneider, Rainer Maria Kiesow, Claudine Moulin, Christof Schöch: Les mots de Beccaria. Métalexicographie des langues du droit de punir à partir de Dei delitti e delle pene (1764) et ses traductions en Europe. In: Beccaria. Revue d’histoire du droit de punir 5 (2019) 117-125.

Claudine Moulin, Christof Schöch: Cesare Beccaria’s Dei Delitti e Delle Pene (1764): Approaching the Multilingual Textual and Paratextual Tradition from an (Undogmatic) Digital Point of View. In: Toward Undogmatic Reading: Narratology, Digital Humanities and Beyond. Hamburg: Hamburg Univ. Press (to appear).

Forschungsbereich(e): Softwaresysteme und Forschungsinfrastrukturen, Digitale Edition und Lexikographie

Schlagworte: Rechtssprache, Übersetzungskulturen, Mehrsprachigkeit

Technologie:

Eine umfassende Dokumentation des Wortschatzes der historischen Rechtssprachen in Europa existiert bislang allenfalls in Ansätzen. Ziel des deutsch-französischen Projekts „MetaLEX“ ist, diese Forschungslücke durch den Aufbau eines quellenbasierten, dynamisch angelegten und interdisziplinär konzipierten metalexikographischen Informationssystems zu den historischen Rechtssprachen in Europa zu schließen. Das als Pilotprojekt zu verstehende Vorhaben basiert auf drei Quellentypen und fokussiert zeitlich zunächst den Zeitraum zwischen 1700 und 1900. Das entstehende Informationssystem ist generisch angelegt und soll in einem Folgeprojekt einen größeren Zeitraum abdecken und potentiell eine unbegrenzte Anzahl von Quellen beherbergen können.


MetaLEX ist zu verstehen als historisches Begriffsinformationssystem der europäischen Rechtssprachen, das keine Wörterbuchartikel im „traditionellen“ Sinne bietet, sondern unter Ausnutzung von Recherche- und Visualisierungsmethoden sowie Analyseverfahren der Digital Humanities und der Informatik historische Wortkonzepte in ihrer zeitlichen Entwicklung abbildet. MetaLEX wird somit ein mehrsprachiges konzeptorientiertes Informationssystem darstellen, einen dynamischen und vernetzten metalexikographischen Wissensspeicher zur Erschließung der historischen Rechtssprachen in Europa im Zeitraum von 1700 bis 1900. MetaLEX ist historisch und philologisch verankert, soll aber langfristig und in der Vollausbaustufe zudem eine Folie für die Aufarbeitung und Reflexion der aktuellen rechtlichen Mehrsprachigkeit in Europa sein.

Zur Zeit wird das Konzept anhand des Teilvorhabens „Cesare Beccaria, Dei delitti e delle pene (1764) et ses traductions au 18ème siècle: mise en réseau, édition multilingue et approche métalexicographique”/„Cesare Beccaria, Dei delitti e delle pene (1764) und seine Übersetzungen im 18. Jahrhundert: Vernetzung, mehrsprachige Edition und metalexikographische Erschließung“ erprobt.

Ferner finden seit 2018 jährliche Workshops zum Vorhaben an der Villa Vigoni/Deutsch-Italienisches Zentrum für den Europäischen Dialog statt.


Downloads

Team TCDH

Anne Klee
E-Mail: kleeatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3365

Dr. Claudia Bamberg
E-Mail: bambergatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3790

Dr. Thomas Burch
E-Mail: burchatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3364

Johanna Garthe
E-Mail: s2jogartatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3365

Prof. Dr. Christof Schöch
E-Mail: schoechatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3264

Prof. Dr. Claudine Moulin
E-Mail: moulinatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-2305

Themen