Stefan Heym: “Ahasver”

Pilot Project for a Digital Historical-Critical Edition

Stefan Heym

Project Management: Prof. Dr. Bernadette Malinowski  (Technische Universität Chemnitz) · Technische Universität Chemnitz · Dr Thomas Burch  (Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)) · Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)

Project Participants: Cambridge University Library

Sponsors: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Running time: -

Contact person (TCDH): Dr Thomas Burch; Dr Claudia Bamberg

Research Area: Software Systems and Research Infrastructure, Digital Edition and Lexicography

Keywords: “born digital”, Manuscripts, Typoscripts, Text Genesis

Technologies:

The project consists of a digital, annotated, historical-critical edition of the novel “Ahasver” by Stefan Heym. It is considered a pilot project for a digital historical-critical complete edition of the novel. The unique legal situation and, thus, the possibility of the extensive use of the estate material as well as the working library (which is accessible for the first time) provide the opportunity to present a contemporary author of cultural and socio-political significance in this way for the first time.

Born in Chemnitz as the son of a Jewish businessman, Stefan Heym began working as a journalist at an early age. Due to the political events of 1933, he fled to the USA via Prague. Fought for the US armed forces as a sergeant in the Allied Invasion of Normandy, but left the United States in protest against the Korean War in 1951 and settled in East Berlin in 1952. Initially celebrated as a publicist, he was expelled from the GDR Writers' Association in 1979 and since then, he lived in constant confrontation with the apparatus of power.

The novel “Ahasver”

In “Ahasver”, Heym recounts the myth of the legend of the “eternal Jew”: Because he does not let Jesus rest on his doorstep on the way to the crucifixion site, Ahasver, the shoemaker from Jerusalem, is cursed to wander around the earth restlessly until Jesus' return. The novel “Ahasver” was published in 1981 for the first time by the Bertelsmann Verlag (just in time for the Luther year). A translation by Heym himself followed in 1983 at Holt in New York. Due to a publication ban, the text was only printed in the GDR a year before the fall of the Wall at the publishing house “Der Morgen” and a year after the fall as a licensed edition by the publishing house “Volk und Welt”. Like most of Heym's other works, “Ahasver” (with the exception of the GDR publications) was printed in all new, work and paperback editions, identical to the first edition without any changes. Furthermore, the text has not been provided with paratextual additions such as a foreword or afterword or a commentary apparatus in any edition so far.

Heym's estate

The pre-mortem bequest (›Vorlass‹), which Stefan Heym donated to the Cambridge University Library in 1992, comprises around 300 archive boxes with manuscripts, preliminary studies on literary texts, audio and video tapes, reviews, newspaper clippings as well as leaflets and letters. The considerations of bequeathing his archive abroad reached back to the 1980s, when Heym feared that his ›papers‹ would disappear due to the GDR regime in the event of his death (cf. Zehl-Romero 2003, 396). If one looks at the research literature on Heym's works that has been published since the archive material was accessed, i.e. since the mid-1990s, it is noticeable that the material available in Cambridge was hardly taken into account. If you look specifically at the research on Stefan Heym's novel “Ahasver”, it is easy to see that some questions or speculations regarding the sources Heym used for his text can be answered, if you looked for the answers in the Cambridge Archive.

Worldwide availability, searchability and multiple perspectives for the Heym`s works

Systems such as the “Research Network and Database System” (FuD) produced by the TCDH together with the Research Center Europe and the Collaborative Research Center 600 and the Transcribo tool for interactive transcription of manuscripts and typescripts developed as part of “Arthur Schnitzler digital (ASd)” are of particular interest for the Heym Edition. With regard to the online publication of the results, modules such as those developed for ASd can be used immediately by using the same basic technology.

Team TCDH

Dr Claudia Bamberg
E-mail: bambergatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3790

Dr Thomas Burch
E-mail: burchatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3364

Julia Hennemann
E-mail: hennemannjatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3849

Topics

Stefan Heym: „Ahasver“

Pilotprojekt zu einer digitalen historisch-kritischen Edition

Stefan Heym

Projektleitung: Prof. Dr. Bernadette Malinowski  (Technische Universität Chemnitz) · Technische Universität Chemnitz · Dr. Thomas Burch  (Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)) · Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)

Projektbeteiligte: Cambridge University Library

Förderer: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Laufzeit: -

Ansprechpartner (TCDH): Dr. Thomas Burch; Dr. Claudia Bamberg

Forschungsbereich(e): Softwaresysteme und Forschungsinfrastrukturen, Digitale Edition und Lexikographie

Schlagworte: Born Digital, Handschriften, Typoskripte, Textentwicklung

Technologie:

Das Projekt besteht in einer digitalen kommentierten historisch-kritischen Ausgabe des Romans „Ahasver“ von Stefan Heym. Es versteht sich als Pilotprojekt zu einer digitalen historisch-kritischen Gesamtausgabe des Werks. Dank der einmaligen Rechtelage und der damit verbundenen Möglichkeit der vollumfänglichen Nutzung des Nachlassmaterials wie auch der erstmals zugänglichen Arbeitsbibliothek bietet es die Chance, einen zeitgenössischen Autor eines solchen Ranges, dessen kultur- wie gesellschaftspolitische Bedeutung außer Frage steht, erstmals in dieser Weise zu präsentieren.

In Chemnitz als Sohn eines jüdischen Kaufmanns geboren, begann Stefan Heym früh mit der journalistischen Arbeit, floh aufgrund der politischen Ereignisse 1933 über Prag in die USA. Für die US-Streitkräfte kämpfte als Sergeant in der alliierten Invasion in der Normandie, verließ allerdings aus Protest gegen den Koreakrieg 1951 die Vereinigten Staaten und ließ sich 1952 in Ost-Berlin nieder. Hier anfangs als Publizist gefeiert, wurde er 1979 aus dem Schriftstellerverband der DDR ausgeschlossen und lebte fortan in ständiger Konfrontation mit dem Machtapparat.

Der Roman „Ahasver“

Heym erzählt in „Ashaver“ den Mythos der Legende des „ewigen Juden“ neu: Weil er Jesus auf dem Weg zur Kreuzigungsstätte nicht vor seiner Haustür ruhen lässt, wird Ahasver, der Schuster von Jerusalem, verflucht, bis zu Jesus' Wiederkunft rastlos auf Erden zu wandern. Der Roman „Ahasver“ erschien (pünktlich zum Lutherjahr) erstmals 1981 im Bertelsmann Verlag. Eine von Heym selbst vorgenommene Übersetzung folgte 1983 bei Holt in New York. Aufgrund eines Publikationsverbots wurde der Text in der DDR erst ein Jahr vor der Wende beim Verlag Der Morgen und ein Jahr nach der Wende als Lizenzausgabe im Verlag Volk und Welt gedruckt. Wie die meisten anderen Werke Heyms wurde auch „Ahasver“ (mit Ausnahme der DDR-Publikationen) in allen Neu-, Werk-und Taschenbuchauflagen lediglich satzidentisch mit der Erstausgabe gedruckt und enthielt keinerlei Änderungen. Überdies wurde der Text bislang in keiner Ausgabe mit paratextuellen Beigaben wie etwa einem Vorwort oder Nachwort oder einem kommentierenden Anmerkungsapparat versehen.

Der Nachlass Heyms

Rund 300 Archivboxen mit Manuskripten, Vorstudien zu literarischen Texten, Ton-und Videobändern, Rezensionen, Zeitungsausschnitten sowie Flugblättern und Briefen umfasst der ›Vorlass‹, den Stefan Heym 1992 der Cambridge University Library überließ. Die Überlegungen, sein Archiv dem Ausland zu vermachen, reichten bis in die 1980er zurück, als Heym im Falle seines Todes das Verschwinden seiner ›Papiere‹ durch das DDR-Regime befürchtete (vgl. Zehl-Romero 2003, 396). Betrachtet man die seit dem Zugang zum Archivmaterial, also seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre, erschienene Forschungsliteratur zu Heyms Werken, so fällt auf, dass das in Cambridge zur Verfügung stehende Material kaum Berücksichtigung fand. Sieht man sich konkret die Forschung zu Stefan Heyms Roman „Ahasver an, so lässt sich unschwer erkennen, dass einige Fragen bzw. Spekulationen beispielsweise in Bezug auf die von Heym für seinen Text verwendeten Quellen beantwortet werden können, suchte man nach den Antworten im Cambridger Archiv.

Weltweite Verfügbarkeit, Durchsuchbarkeit und Multiperspektivität für das Werk Heyms

Für die Heym-Edition von besonderem Interesse sind daher Systeme wie das vom TCDH gemeinsam mit dem Forschungszentrum Europa und dem Sonderforschungsbereich 600 entwickelte »Forschungsnetzwerk und Datenbanksystem« (FuD) sowie das im Rahmen von „Arthur Schnitzler digital (ASd)“ entwickelte Werkzeug Transcribo zur interaktiven Transkription von Manuskripten und Typoskripten. Auch hinsichtlich der Online-Publikation der Ergebnisse können Module, wie sie für ASd entwickelt wurden, unmittelbar nachgenutzt werden, indem auf die gleiche Basistechnologie gesetzt wird.

 

 

Team TCDH

Dr. Claudia Bamberg
E-Mail: bambergatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3790

Dr. Thomas Burch
E-Mail: burchatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3364

Julia Hennemann
E-Mail: hennemannjatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3849

Themen