eLaterna

Media-Historical, Methodological and Media-Technical Basics of the Digitization of Works of Historical Art of Projection

in the workhouse

Project Management: Prof. Dr. Martin Loiperdinger  (Universität Trier – Fach Medienwissenschaft) · Dr. Ludwig Maria Vogl-Bienek  (Universität Trier – Fach Medienwissenschaft) · Universität Trier – Fach Medienwissenschaft · Prof Dr Claudine Moulin  (Universität Trier - Germanistik (Ältere deutsche Philologie)) · Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)

Project Participants: Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)

Sponsors: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Running time: -

Contact person (TCDH): Dr Thomas Burch; Prof Dr Claudine Moulin

Research Area: Software Systems and Research Infrastructure, Digital Literary and Cultural Studies, Digital Edition and Lexicography

Keywords: Research and Teaching, “born digital”

Technologies:

Website of the Project: eLaterna

Although the art of projection was widespread as a mass medium in the 19th century and universally used as a cultural technique, it has hardly been researched until today. Many of the traditional glass pictures, which were projected onto a screen with a magic lantern in connection with live music and recitations, are in private collections and are therefore difficult to access. Even the specialist literature on media history is limited to a few publications despite the great importance of the topic. This research gap is to be closed with the DFG-funded project "Media-historical, methodological and media-technical foundations of the digitization of works of Historical Art of Projection".

The aim is to develop all media-historical, methodological and media-technical basics for the digitization of the traditional works of Historical Art of Projection and to compile them permanently on an international web portal. For this purpose, the works are recorded and reconstructed in their chronological order, general sources on historical projection art are systematically arranged and appropriate methods of image and sound recording and reproduction are prepared.

The Source Edition is Created

By using the latest processes and methods of digital humanities, digital source editions are to be developed, which in future will enable access to the works regardless of time and location. This requires cataloging and recording standards as well as technical guidelines in the area of ​​metadata and long-term archiving, which are coordinated and developed with international partners. The virtual research environment FuD, as an integrated and network-based work platform, enables the web portal to be set up and makes the works of historical projection art accessible on the basis of critical digital source editions. In FuD, the databases of the existing Lucerna database are first imported, which are then configured and adapted using web-based tools for the creation and elaboration of the critical digital source editions.

The research project thus creates the prerequisites for further research into Historical Art of Projection and offers interested humanities and social scientists not only permanent access to documents, artefacts and traditions but also an ever-present reconstruction of the sequences of the photographs in coordination with music, text and song.

Team TCDH

Yu Gan
E-mail: ganyuatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3003

Topics

eLaterna

Medienhistorische, methodische und medientechnische Grundlagen der Digitalisierung von Werken der historischen Projektionskunst

in the workhouse

Projektleitung: Prof. Dr. Martin Loiperdinger  (Universität Trier – Fach Medienwissenschaft) · Dr. Ludwig Maria Vogl-Bienek  (Universität Trier – Fach Medienwissenschaft) · Universität Trier – Fach Medienwissenschaft · Prof. Dr. Claudine Moulin  (Universität Trier - Germanistik (Ältere deutsche Philologie)) · Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)

Projektbeteiligte: Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)

Förderer: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)

Laufzeit: -

Ansprechpartner (TCDH): Dr. Thomas Burch; Prof. Dr. Claudine Moulin

Forschungsbereich(e): Softwaresysteme und Forschungsinfrastrukturen, Digitale Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaften, Digitale Edition und Lexikographie

Schlagworte: Forschung und Lehre, Born Digital

Technologie:

Projektseite: elaterna

Obwohl die Projektionskunst im 19. Jahrhundert als Massenmedium weit verbreitet war und als Kulturtechnik universell eingesetzt wurde, ist sie bis heute kaum erforscht. Viele der überlieferten Glasbilder, die in Verbindung mit Livemusik und Rezitationen mit einer Laterna Magica auf eine Leinwand (screen) projiziert wurden, befinden sich in Privatsammlungen und sind daher nur schwer zugänglich. Auch die mediengeschichtliche Fachliteratur ist trotz der großen Bedeutung der Thematik auf wenige Publikationen beschränkt. Diese Forschungslücke soll mit dem DFG-geförderten Projekt „Medienhistorische, methodische und medientechnische Grundlagen der Digitalisierung von Werken der historischen Projektionskunst“ nachhaltig geschlossen werden.

Ziel ist es, sämtliche medienhistorische, methodische und medientechnische Grundlagen für die Digitalisierung der überlieferten Werke der historischen Projektionskunst zu erarbeiten und diese dauerhaft auf einem internationalen Webportal zusammenzustellen. Hierfür werden die Werke in ihrer chronologischen Abfolge erfasst und rekonstruiert, allgemeine Quellen zur historischen Projektionskunst systematisch arrangiert sowie adäquate Verfahren der bild- und tontechnischen Aufnahme und Wiedergabe aufbereitet.

Die Quellenedition entsteht

Durch den Einsatz neuester Verfahren und Methoden der Digital Humanities sollen digitale Quelleneditionen entwickelt werden, die künftig einen zeit- und ortsunabhängigen Zugang zu den Werken ermöglichen. Dies setzt sowohl Erschließungs- und Erfassungsstandards als auch technische Richtlinien im Bereich Metadaten und Langzeitarchivierung voraus, die mit internationalen Partnern abgestimmt und erarbeitet werden. Die virtuelle Forschungsumgebung FuD ermöglicht als integrierte und netzbasierte Arbeitsplattform den Aufbau des Webportals und macht die Werke der historischen Projektionskunst anhand kritischer digitaler Quelleneditionen zugänglich. In FuD werden zunächst die Datenbestände der bestehenden Datenbank Lucerna importiert, welche anschließend durch webbasierte Werkzeuge für die Erstellung und Ausarbeitung der kritischen digitalen Quelleneditionen konfiguriert und angepasst werden.

Das Forschungsvorhaben schafft damit die Voraussetzungen für die weitere Erforschung der historischen Projektionskunst und bietet interessierten Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaftlern nicht nur einen dauerhaften Zugang zu Dokumenten, Artefakten und Überlieferungen sondern auch eine stets präsente Rekonstruktion der Abfolgen der Lichtbilder in Abstimmung auf Musik, Text und Gesang.

Themen