World War II

Occupation Societies in World War II - A European Perspective

Queue of „Postimees“-customers in Estonia in spring 1943, Bildarchiv Herder-Institut Inv.nr. 156159

Project Management: Prof. Dr. Tatjana Tönsmeyer

Project Participants: Universität Warschau · Deutsches Historisches Institut Paris · Moscow MEMORIAL

Sponsors: Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

Running time: -

Contact person (TCDH): Dr Thomas Burch

Research Area: Software Systems and Research Infrastructure, Digital Edition and Lexicography

Keywords:

Technologies:

Website of the Project: World War II

The aim of the project is a research-based edition of sources on everyday experiences and violence experienced by local populations in the areas occupied by the Wehrmacht in World War II. Cooperation partners from a total of 15 European countries are involved in the research and edition project, who focus on or exclusively deal with the history of the respective country in the Second World War.

The history of the Second World War has been written in the past few years primarily as the history of the National Socialist expansion and its actors and as the "history of the perpetrators". The focus of research activities was and is the Holocaust and the crimes of the Wehrmacht and the SS. In addition, in most of the formerly occupied countries there is a strong focus on the resistance. In contrast, the situation of local populations under the conditions of German occupation has remained a deficit in research and documentation.

The edition, which is planned in English in print form and as an online portal, documents the phenomena of everyday war life in Europe as well as the situation of local populations through a comparative view. For the first time, it sheds light on a topic that is central to European politics of memory and history. It would like to contribute to the history of local populations under the conditions of occupation of the Second World War and to show new ways in the historiography of the Second World War.

The digital edition will contain a number of facsimiles to convey the visual and material qualities of selected sources, as well as offering advanced interactive search functions. The project portal will also offer additional, specially developed functions for teaching. The preparation of the online edition is carried out by the TCDH Trier, the main project partner for the digital implementation of the edition, and with the support of the Interdisciplinary Center for Edition and Document Science (University of Wuppertal) as well as the Center for Media and Interactivity (University of Gießen).

 

Team TCDH

Dr Matthias Bremm
E-mail: bremmatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-4733

Dr Thomas Burch
E-mail: burchatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3364

Topics

World War II

Besatzungsgesellschaften im Zweiten Weltkrieg – Eine europäische Perspektive

Queue of „Postimees“-customers in Estonia in spring 1943, Bildarchiv Herder-Institut Inv.nr. 156159

Projektleitung: Prof. Dr. Tatjana Tönsmeyer

Projektbeteiligte: Universität Warschau · Deutsches Historisches Institut Paris · Moscow MEMORIAL

Förderer: Leibniz-Gemeinschaft, Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

Laufzeit: -

Ansprechpartner (TCDH): Dr. Thomas Burch

Forschungsbereich(e): Softwaresysteme und Forschungsinfrastrukturen, Digitale Edition und Lexikographie

Schlagworte:

Technologie:

Projektseite: World War II

Ziel des Projektes ist eine forschungsgestützte Edition von Quellen zu Alltags- und Gewalterfahrungen der Lokalbevölkerungen in den von der Wehrmacht im Zweiten Weltkrieg besetzten Gebieten. An dem Forschungs- und Editionsprojekt sind Kooperationspartner/innen aus insgesamt 15 europäischen Ländern beteiligt, die sich schwerpunktmäßig oder ausschließlich mit der Geschichte des jeweiligen Landes im Zweiten Weltkrieg befassen.

Die Geschichte des Zweiten Weltkriegs ist in den vergangenen Jahren vor allem als Geschichte der nationalsozialistischen Expansion und ihrer Akteure und als »Tätergeschichte« geschrieben worden. Schwerpunkte der Forschungstätigkeit waren und sind der Holocaust und die Verbrechen der Wehrmacht sowie der SS. Hinzu tritt in den meisten ehemals besetzten Ländern eine starke Ausrichtung auf den Widerstand. Die Situation lokaler Bevölkerungen unter den Bedingungen deutscher Besatzung ist demgegenüber ein Defizit in Forschung und Dokumentation geblieben.

Die Edition, die in englischer Sprache in Printform und als Onlineportal geplant ist, dokumentiert durch den vergleichenden Blick die Phänomene des Kriegsalltags in Europa sowie die Situation lokaler Bevölkerungen. Sie beleuchtet erstmals länderübergreifend ein für die europäische Erinnerungs- und Geschichtspolitik zentrales Themenfeld. Sie möchte einen Beitrag zur Geschichte lokaler Bevölkerungen unter den Besatzungsbedingungen des Zweiten Weltkriegs leisten und neue Wege in der Historiographie des Zweiten Weltkriegs aufzeigen.

Die digitale Ausgabe wird eine Reihe von Faksimiles enthalten, um die visuellen und materiellen Qualitäten ausgewählter Quellen zu vermitteln sowie erweiterte interaktive Suchfunktionen anbieten. Das Projektportal wird darüber hinaus zusätzliche, speziell entwickelte Funktionen für den Unterricht anbieten. Die Vorbereitung der Online-Ausgabe erfolgt mit dem TCDH Trier, dem Hauptprojektpartner für die digitale Umsetzung der Ausgabe, und mit Unterstützung des Interdisziplinären Zentrums für Editions- und Dokumentwissenschaft (Universität Wuppertal) und des Zentrums für Medien und Interaktivität (Universität Gießen).

 

Team TCDH

Dr. Matthias Bremm
E-Mail: bremmatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-4733

Dr. Thomas Burch
E-Mail: burchatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3364

Themen