LexicoLux

Developing and Networking Lexicographical Knowledge of Luxembourgish

Lexikolux

Project Management: Université du Luxembourg · Prof. Dr. Peter Gilles · Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)

Sponsors: Fonds National de la Recherche Luxembourg (FNR)

Running time: -

Contact person (TCDH): Dr Thomas Burch

Research Area: Digital Edition and Lexicography

Keywords: digital lexicography, retro digitization

Technologies:

Website of the Project: LexicoLux

The LexicoLux project aimed to create a dynamic dictionary network for the Luxembourgish language which, on the one hand, bundles the existing lexicographical knowledge of Luxembourgish, and on the other hand, evaluates and analyzes it in a targeted manner.

In cooperation with the TCDH, the “Lexicon der Luxemburgischen Umgangssprache” by JF Gangler (1847), the “Wörterbuch der luxemburgischen Mundart” (1906) and the “Luxemburger Wörterbuch” (1950–1977) were retro-digitized, marked in XML and published as a network on the Internet. Through the connection to the Trier dictionary network and in particular the link with the dictionaries of the neighboring West Moselle Franconian dialects, LexicoLux becomes part of the projected large dictionary of the "Grande Région", in which national borders are removed and common vocabulary structures and cultural-historical connections are revealed.

The results obtained will not only be of importance for Luxembourg studies, for example for describing the Luxembourgish contemporary language, the creation of new dictionaries or for the literary development of the Luxembourgish vocabulary and the figurative elements of the Luxembourgish language, but also make a contribution to current international research questions about the organization and constitution of linguistic knowledge and to capture the linguistic diversity in the middle of Europe.

Topics

LexicoLux

Erschließung und Vernetzung lexikographischen Wissens über das Luxemburgische

Puzzle

Projektleitung: Université du Luxembourg · Prof. Dr. Peter Gilles · Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)

Förderer: Fonds National de la Recherche Luxembourg (FNR)

Laufzeit: -

Ansprechpartner (TCDH): Dr. Thomas Burch

Forschungsbereich(e): Digitale Edition und Lexikographie

Schlagworte: Digitale Lexikographie, Retrodigitalisierung

Technologie:

Projektseite: LexicoLux

Das Vorhaben LexicoLux zielte auf die Schaffung eines dynamischen Wörterbuchnetzes der luxemburgischen Sprache, das einerseits das vorhandene lexikographische Wissen über das Luxemburgische bündelt, andererseits dieses gezielt auswertet und analysiert.

In Kooperation mit dem TCDH wurden das „Lexicon der Luxemburgischen Umgangssprache“ von J. F. Gangler (1847), das „Wörterbuch der luxemburgischen Mundart“ (1906) und das „Luxemburger Wörterbuch“ (1950–1977) retrodigitalisiert, in XML markiert und in vernetzter Form im Internet publiziert. Durch die Anbindung an das Trierer Wörterbuchnetz und insbesondere die Verknüpfung mit den Wörterbüchern der benachbarten westmoselfränkischen Mundarten wird LexicoLux Teil des projektierten Großwörterbuchs der „Grande Région“, in dem Ländergrenzen aufgehoben und gemeinsame Wortschatzstrukturen und kulturgeschichtliche Zusammenhänge aufgedeckt werden.

Die gewonnenen Ergebnisse werden nicht nur für die Luxemburgistik, etwa für Beschreibung der luxemburgischen Gegenwartssprache, die Erstellung neuer Wörterbücher oder für die literaturwissenschaftliche Erschließung des luxemburgischen Wortschatzes und der Bildelemente der luxemburgischen Sprache von Bedeutung sein, sondern leisten auch einen Beitrag zu aktuellen internationalen Forschungsfragen zur Organisation und Konstitution von sprachlichem Wissen und zur Erfassung der sprachlichen Vielfalt in der Mitte Europas.

Themen