ELEXIS

European Lexicographic Infrastructure

ELEXIS Logo

Project Management: Institut Jozef Stefan, Slovenien

Project Participants: Centar za digitalne humanisticke nauke, Serbien · Gesellschaft für dänische Sprache und Literatur [Det Danske Sprog- og Litteraturselskab (DSL)], Kopenhagen · Eesti Keele Instituut, Estland · Faculdade de Ciências Sociais e Humanas da Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal · Institute for Bulgarian Language, Bulgarien · Instituut voor de Nederlandse Taal, Niederlande · K Dictionaries Ltd, Israel · Lexical Computing CZ s.r.o., Tschechische Republik · Magyar Tudomanyos Akademia, Nyelvtudomanyi Intezet, Ungarn · National University of Ireland Galway, Irland · Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften, Österreich · Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Italien · Real Academia Española, Spanien

Sponsors: EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramm „Horizon 2020“

Running time: -

Contact person (TCDH): Dr Thomas Burch

Research Area: Software Systems and Research Infrastructure, Digital Edition and Lexicography

Keywords: digital lexicography, digital technologies and tools

Technologies:

Website of the Project: ELEXIS

„ELEXIS – European Lexicographic Infrastructure“ is an initiative that has developed from the COST Action IS1305 "ENel – European Network of e-Lexicography". 17 partner institutions from 14 countries work together in order to foster cooperation and knowledge exchange between different research communities in the field of lexicography. An interdisciplinary and internationally oriented work group composed of representatives from institutions that provide high-quality digital lexicographic resources and researchers in complementary disciplines such as lexicography, Digital Humanities, language technology and standardisation aims at bridging the gap between lesser-resourced languages and those with advanced e-lexicographic experience.

Develop Standards and Strategies for Lexicography and Promote Knowledge Exchange

The aim is to establish common standards and solutions for the development of lexicographic resources and to develop strategies, tools and standards for extracting, structuring and linking of lexicographic resources in order to unlock their full potential for Linked Open Data, Semantic Web and the Digital Humanities. The project will support scientists in retrieving, sharing, linking, analyzing and interpreting heterogeneous lexicographical data. This paves the way for ambitious, transnational, data-driven developments in this area and, at the same time, reduces duplication of work across disciplinary boundaries. The cooperation with CLARIN and DARIAH will also contribute to this.

The TCDH Contributes its Practical Expertise

The TCDH is involved in the work packages “Lexicographic data and workflow”, “Training and Education”, „Dissemination und Community Building“, „Virtual Access“ and „Trans-National Access“. It will, thus, provide lexicographic data and support the workflow-development, contribute to introductory and training courses and tutorials, create a generic, modular tool for the publication of retro-digitized dictionaries and also act as a hosting institution for grant visits.


Related projects: Publex

Team TCDH

Anne Klee
E-mail: kleeatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3365

Dr Claudia Bamberg
E-mail: bambergatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3790

Dr Thomas Burch
E-mail: burchatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3364

Julia Hennemann
E-mail: hennemannjatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3849

Sandra Weyand
E-mail: weyandsatuni-trier [dot] de
Phone: +49 651 201-3161

Topics

ELEXIS

European Lexicographic Infrastructure

ELEXIS Logo

Projektleitung: Institut Jozef Stefan, Slovenien

Projektbeteiligte: Centar za digitalne humanisticke nauke, Serbien · Gesellschaft für dänische Sprache und Literatur [Det Danske Sprog- og Litteraturselskab (DSL)], Kopenhagen · Eesti Keele Instituut, Estland · Faculdade de Ciências Sociais e Humanas da Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal · Institute for Bulgarian Language, Bulgarien · Instituut voor de Nederlandse Taal, Niederlande · K Dictionaries Ltd, Israel · Lexical Computing CZ s.r.o., Tschechische Republik · Magyar Tudomanyos Akademia, Nyelvtudomanyi Intezet, Ungarn · National University of Ireland Galway, Irland · Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften, Österreich · Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche, Italien · Real Academia Española, Spanien

Förderer: EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramm „Horizon 2020“

Laufzeit: -

Ansprechpartner (TCDH): Dr. Thomas Burch

Forschungsbereich(e): Softwaresysteme und Forschungsinfrastrukturen, Digitale Edition und Lexikographie

Schlagworte: Digitale Lexikographie, digitale Technologien und Werkzeuge

Technologie:

Projektseite: ELEXIS

In „ELEXIS – European Lexicographic Infrastructure“, einer aus der COST Action IS1305 „ENel – European Network of e-Lexicography“ hervorgegangenen Initiative, arbeiten 17 Partnerinstitutionen aus 14 Ländern gemeinsam daran, die Zusammenarbeit und den Wissensaustausch zwischen verschiedenen Forschungs-Communities in der Lexikographie zu fördern. Eine interdisziplinär und international aufgestellte Arbeitsgemeinschaft, die sich zusammensetzt aus Repräsentanten von Institutionen, die qualitativ hochwertige digitale lexikographische Ressourcen zur Verfügung stellen, und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern einander ergänzender Fachgebiete wie zum Beispiel Lexikographie, Digital Humanities, Sprachtechnologie und Standardisierung, arbeitet daran, die Kluft zwischen Sprachen mit geringeren Ressourcen und solchen, für die fortgeschrittene Erfahrungen in der digitalen Lexikographie vorliegen, zu überbrücken.

Standards und Strategien für die Lexikographie entwickeln und den Wissensaustausch fördern

Ziele sind die Festlegung gemeinsamer Standards und Lösungen für die Entwicklung lexikographischer Ressourcen und die Entwicklung von Strategien, Tools und Standards für die Extraktion, Strukturierung und Verknüpfung von lexikografischen Ressourcen, um deren volles Potential für Linked Open Data, Semantic Web und Digital Humanities zu erschließen. Das Projekt wird Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler dabei unterstützen, heterogene lexikographische Daten abzurufen, zu teilen, miteinander zu verknüpfen, zu analysieren und zu interpretieren. Dadurch wird der Weg für ambitionierte, transnationale, datengesteuerte Entwicklungen in diesem Bereich bereitet und gleichzeitig doppelte Arbeit über disziplinäre Grenzen hinweg reduziert. Dazu wird auch die Kooperation mit CLARIN und DARIAH beitragen.

Das TCDH bringt sich mit seinem praxisnahen Fachwissen ein

Das TCDH ist involviert in die Arbeitspakete „Lexikographische Daten und Workflow“, „Aus- und Weiterbildung“, „Dissemination und Community Building“, „Virtueller Zugang“ und „Transnationaler Zugang“, wird also lexikographische Daten zur Verfügung stellen und zur Workflow-Entwicklung beitragen, sich an Einführungskursen, Schulungen und Tutorials beteiligen, ein generisches, modulares Werkzeug zur Veröffentlichung retrodigitalisierter Wörterbücher entwickeln und außerdem als Gastinstitution für internationale Forschungsaufenthalte zur Verfügung stehen.


Zugehörige Projekte: Publex

Team TCDH

Anne Klee
E-Mail: kleeatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3365

Dr. Claudia Bamberg
E-Mail: bambergatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3790

Dr. Thomas Burch
E-Mail: burchatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3364

Julia Hennemann
E-Mail: hennemannjatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3849

Sandra Weyand
E-Mail: weyandsatuni-trier [dot] de
Tel: +49 651 201-3161

Themen