Lexicon Musicum Latinum Medii Aevi (LmL)

Inventory of Latin Music Terminology from the Middle Ages to the End of the 15th Century

Zweistimmiges Quart-Organum aus der "Musica enchiriadis" (Bamberg, Staatsbibliothek, Msc. Var. 1, fol. 57r; 9. Jh.; WikiCommons

Project Management: Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften

Project Participants: Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)

Sponsors: Union der deutschen Akademien der Wissenschaften

Running time: -

Contact person (TCDH): Dr Thomas Burch

Research Area: Software Systems and Research Infrastructure, Digital Edition and Lexicography

Keywords: retro digitization, manuscripts, academy project, TUSTEP, printed edition

Technologies:

Website of the Project: Lexicon musicum Latinum medii aevi (LmL)

The Lexicon musicum Latinum medii aevi (LmL) is one of the first projects of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences to use digital technologies from the start - the LmL is considered to be an early representative of today's digital humanities. It served as a comprehensive inventory of the Latin-speaking music terminology of the Middle Ages. The research began in 1960 and was successfully completed in 2016. The Lexicon musicum Latinum medii aevi (LmL) is now available in printed and digital form.

However, direct access to the music of the Middle Ages is denied and the tradition is broken off. In order to gain a new approach, only two types of sources are available, the sheet music and neumen manuscripts on the one hand and music theory manuscripts on the other.

In order to make the collected research material easily accessible, the editorial team set up an Internet homepage from 1996 onwards, which was gradually expanded. The Trier Center for Digital Humanities at the University of Trier was responsible for creating the LmL Online, i.e. the digital version of the printed work.


Related projects: The Dictionary Network

Topics

Lexicon musicum Latinum medii aevi (LmL)

Bestandsaufnahme der lateinischsprachigen Musikterminologie des Mittelalters bis zum Ausgang des 15. Jahrhunderts

Zweistimmiges Quart-Organum aus der "Musica enchiriadis" (Bamberg, Staatsbibliothek, Msc. Var. 1, fol. 57r; 9. Jh.; WikiCommons

Projektleitung: Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften

Projektbeteiligte: Universität Trier - Trier Center for Digital Humanities (TCDH)

Förderer: Union der deutschen Akademien der Wissenschaften

Laufzeit: -

Ansprechpartner (TCDH): Dr. Thomas Burch

Forschungsbereich(e): Softwaresysteme und Forschungsinfrastrukturen, Digitale Edition und Lexikographie

Schlagworte: Retrodigitalisierung, Handschriften, Akademieprojekt, TUSTEP, Printedition

Technologie:

Projektseite: Lexicon musicum Latinum medii aevi (LmL)

Das Lexicon musicum Latinum medii aevi (LmL) zählt zu den ersten Projekten der Bayrischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, die von Anfang an digitale Technologien nutzten – so gilt das LmL als früher Vertreter der heutigen Digital Humanities. Es diente einer umfassenden Bestandsaufnahme der lateinischsprachigen Musikterminologie des Mittelalters. Die Forschungsarbeiten begannen 1960 und wurden 2016 erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Das Lexicon musicum Latinum medii aevi (LmL) liegt nun in gedruckter und in digitaler Form vor.

Der unmittelbare Zugang zur Musik des Mittelalters ist jedoch verwehrt und die Tradition abgebrochen. Um einen neuen Zugang zu gewinnen, stehen nur zwei Arten von Quellen zur Verfügung, die Noten- und Neumenhandschriften einerseits sowie musiktheoretische Handschriften andererseits.

Um das gesammelte Material der Forschung leicht zugänglich zu machen, wurde ab 1996 von der Redaktion auch eine Internet-Homepage aufgebaut, die nach und nach erweitert wurde. Das Erstellen des LmL Online, also der digitalen Version des gedruckten Werks, übernahm das Trier Center for Digital Humanities an der Universität Trier.


Zugehörige Projekte: Wörterbuchnetz

Themen